HOME

Orgelfrühling Steiermark

Orgelfrühling Steiermark

The Festival "Orgelfrühling Steiermark" (Organ Spring Styria) takes place annually in spring at various venues in Graz and throughout Styria. The state and federal government, the city of Graz with other Styrian cities and municipalities, the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, parishes, tourism associations and societies as well as numerous private initiatives are jointly involved in this festival for the organ in its many forms, from traditional cultural assets to modern high-tech computers, from the sacred instrument to the virtuosic stage character.

The program includes solo concerts as well as orchestral, chamber music and crossover projects with the pipe organ or the digital organ at the center. Young talents and young prize-winners present themselves in the Orgelfrühling Steiermark Festival equally next to the best-known soloists in the field, historical musical heritage stands alongside new approaches to transcription and interpretation. Contemporary compositions find their permanent place in the program, new works are created especially for Orgelfrühling Steiermark and the instruments of the ZfO (Center for Organ Research Graz), which through their mobility also allow new venues in Styria to be opened up for the instrument.

Literature and drama form a characteristic focus within the framework of Orgelfrühling Steiermark, which deliberately seeks to engage the otherwise thematically, because confessionally predestined organ with texts of world literature. Joint productions with the Graz University of the Arts brought, for example, "Faust," "Schlafes Bruder," "An Offer You Can't Refuse," "Höllenfahrt" and "Der Großinquisitor" to the stage at MUMUTH. In the regions, the festival most recently explored texts by J. W. von Goethe, Thomas Mann and Eveline Hasler.

The adaptation of important piano literature, in 2019 the premiere of two concertos by Joh. Seb. Bach with organ and orchestra, show new possibilities of the organ in the concert field.

Springtime puts the "queen of instruments" in a new light, showing its known, but above all its hidden beauty, virtuosity and versatility.
Orgelfrühling Steiermark is an encounter of a colorful audience from different music and cultural scenes. Often there is the possibility to stay together after the concert and exchange ideas over a glass of wine or the like.
By shuttle buses venues in the regions are connected to Graz, inviting to relaxed Sunday and holiday excursions.


Even if no concerts in front of an audience could or can take place in 2020 and 2021 due to the health policy situation, the festival remains true to its content and programmatic orientation through composition commissions, literary focus topics, acting and e-organ projects, the cooperation with other art disciplines or the integration of orchestral productions.

HOME

Orgelfrühling Steiermark

Orgelfrühling Steiermark

Der Orgelfrühling Steiermark findet jährlich im Frühjahr an verschiedenen Spielorten in Graz und in der Steiermark statt. Gemeinsam engagieren sich Land und Bund, die Stadt Graz mit weiteren steirischen Städten und Gemeinden, die Kunstuniversität Graz, Pfarren, Tourismusverbände und Vereine sowie zahlreiche Privatinitiativen in diesem Festival für die Orgel und ihre vielfältigen Ausprägungen, vom traditionellen Kulturgut bis zum modernen High-Tech-Computer, vom kirchlichen Instrument bis zum virtuosen Bühnencharakter.

Auf dem Programm stehen Solokonzerte ebenso wie Orchester-, Kammermusik- und Crossover-Projekte mit der Orgel bzw. E-Orgel im Zentrum. Nachwuchstalente und junge PreisträgerInnen präsentieren sich im Orgelfrühling gleichwertig neben den bekanntesten SolistInnen des Fachs, historisches musikalisches Erbe steht neben neuen Ansätzen zu Transkription und Interpretation. Zeitgenössische Kompositionen finden ihren festen Platz im Spielplan, es entstehen neue Werke speziell für den Orgelfrühling und die Instrumente des ZfO (Zentrum für Orgelforschung Graz), die es durch ihre Mobilität erlauben, auch neue Spielorte in der Steiermark für das Instrument zu erschließen.

Literatur und Schauspiel bilden einen charakteristischen Schwerpunkt im Rahmen des Orgelfrühlings, der bewusst die Auseinandersetzung der sonst thematisch, weil konfessionell prädestinierten Orgel mit Texten der Weltliteratur sucht. Gemeinsame Produktionen mit der Kunstuniversität Graz brachten z. B. "Faust", "Schlafes Bruder", "An Offer You Can’t Refuse", "Höllenfahrt" und "Der Großinquisitor" im MUMUTH auf die Bühne. In den Regionen beschäftigte der Orgelfrühling sich zuletzt mit Texten von J. W. von Goethe, Thomas Mann und Eveline Hasler.

Die Adaption bedeutender Klavierliteratur, in 2019 die Erstaufführung zweier Konzerte von Joh. Seb. Bach mit Orgel und Orchester, zeigen neue Möglichkeiten der Orgel im Konzertbereich.

Der Frühling rückt die "Königin der Instrumente" in ein neues Licht, zeigt ihre bekannte, vor allem aber auch ihre verborgene Schönheit, Virtuosität und Vielseitigkeit.
Im Orgelfrühling Steiermark begegnet sich ein buntes Publikum aus unterschiedlichen Musik- und Kulturszenen, häufig besteht auch nach dem Konzert noch die Möglichkeit, zusammen zu bleiben und sich bei einem Glas Wein o. ä. auszutauschen.
Durch Shuttlebusse sind Spielorte in den Regionen an Graz angebunden und laden zu entspannten Sonn- und Feiertagsausflügen ein.


Auch wenn wegen der gesundheitspolitischen Situation in 2020 und 2021 keine Konzerte vor Publikum stattfinden konnten bzw. können, beibt das Festival seiner inhaltlichen und programmatischen Ausrichtung durch Kompositionsaufträge, literarische Schwerpunktthemen, Schauspiel- und E-Orgel-Projekte, die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Kunstsparten oder die Einbindung von Orchesterproduktionen treu.