Orgelfrühling Steiermark

Bach · Busoni

Famous Transcriptions
Wednesday, 16.06.21 - 20:00

Online Concert

Miki Aoki returns - at least with a 'virtual contribution' - to her former adopted home as part of the project Orgelfrühling Steiermark 2020.2021.transformations: from 2012 to 2017 she worked at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz before moving to New York, where she now works at Juillard School.

The artist used her time in Pandemic to intensively explore the work of Johann Sebastian Bach.
Since this year's festival will feature not only organ arrangements and adaptations (not least of piano literature), as is typical of our program, but also, for example, the violin arrangement of an organ work, Miki Aoki complements these 'transformations' in a fitting way:
In addition to two of Bach's organ chorales transcribed by Ferrucio Busoni, we hear the famous D minor Chaconne, set by Bach for solo violin, in Busoni's virtuosic piano version.


J. S. Bach / F. Busoni:

  • Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (BWV 645)
  • Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (BWV 639)
  • Chaconne in D minor (BWV 1004)

user supplied image
user supplied image

streaming: June 16-20, 2021